By Rik Jamieson | Assistant PNW Conference Treasurer
While the following two items apply to employers/employees in Washington State, it’s always a good time to check to make sure your practices are in alignment with your state’s laws.
Wage Law Changes for 2018
You might recall that Washington State passed a minimum wage law last year, setting the rate at $11.00 per hour. On January 1, 2018, the minimum wage law in the state will increase to $11.50 (in Idaho it remains set at $7.25). There are some municipalities that have even higher wages amounts.
Effective this January a new mandatory sick leave policy will become law. Final rules are still being hammered out, but as far as we know for now, there is no exemption for church staff, temporary or part time workers. It applies to anyone earning a wage. Here’s a summary and we’ll let you know of changes as soon as we hear about them.
Paid sick leave requirements
Employers in Washington State will also be required to provide their employees with paid sick leave.
- Paid sick leave must accrue at a minimum rate of one hour of paid sick leave for every 40 hours worked. This includes part-time and seasonal workers.
- Paid sick leave must be paid to employees at their normal hourly compensation.
- Employees are entitled to use accrued paid sick leave beginning on the 90th calendar day after the start of their employment.
- Unused paid sick leave of 40 hours or less must be carried over to the following year.
- Employers are allowed to provide employees with more generous carry over and accrual policies.
- Employees may use paid sick leave:
- To care for themselves or a family member.
- When the employees’ workplace or their child’s school or place of care has been closed by a public official for any health-related reason.
- Employers may allow employees to use paid sick leave for additional purposes.
If you have questions about this mailing, please don’t hesitate to call or email us in the Treasurer’s office.